We met at the appointed place for the purpose of establishing a Missionary Baptist Church in the name of the Lord. Singing and praying was led by Deacon Chandler. Then a hymn and opened the doors of the church and the following members joined: Sister Sugar Watkins, Sister Irene Jackson, Sister Laura Cleveland, Sister Lela Watkins, Sister Patty Watkins, Sister Essie Jackson under Christian Experience after giving them the Right Hand of Fellowship. Deacon Hill and Reverend Arthur Woods gave great lectures. The Church was given the name Jerrie! Baptist (named after the Jerrie! Seminary in Athens, Georgia). It was motioned and seconded that Sister Patty Watkins be elected secretary. The officers present were the Pastor ofthe Green Grove Baptist Church, Reverend J.T. Ford, Deacon Hill and Deacon Chandler. Collection $1.25.
Reverend Arthur Woods took this small group of people and with the Holy Ghost, made a great number. Deacon Willie Clark was the firstDeacon to join the church and Deacon Clyde Adams was also appointed Deacon. The building at 1046 Cutter Street soon becameoo small and the property at 850 Armory Avenue was purchased andthe Charter was received on March 9, 1927.